Under Islamic law, the term halal means permitted. If something is forbidden, it is deemed to be haram. As a CBD brand we are often asked by potential customers, is CBD Halal? In this article we’ll delve more into what CBD is, and whether CBD is halal, or haram.

According to the Qur’an, substances that “curtain the mind” are haram. CBD oils are halal if they are non-intoxicating and free from THC.

However, this can depend on the type of CBD product you use and if it contains any additional ingredients that may be haram. Common ingredients such as gelatine, food colouring and flavourings are sometimes haram.

What is CBD?

CBD is also known as cannabidiol, which is a cannabinoid found in the cannabis plant. Unlike other elements found within the plant, CBD doesn’t get you high and is not psychoactive. This is what makes it safe and legal to take in the form of your choice. You can find many different forms of CBD available to help with pain, such as oils and gummies.

It does this, as well as providing a host of other beneficial effects, by promoting homeostasis within the body. This is essentially a healthy balance of all the elements needed to promote healthy living in humans.

CBD User Guide